Useful Tech Tips, Tutorials and guides

Modify UAC (User Account Control)

Windows 7: Modify UAC (User Account Control)

The User Account Control security feature was one of the most reviled additions to Windows, with good reason – its constant warning messages asking for permission to continue many operations drove the users around the bend. UAC has been improved upon a lot in Windows 8 but you can still tweak it if you like.
Here’s is how to turn UAC on or off, and make it less or more intrusive than the default:

  1. Go to the Control Panel –> User Accounts and Family Safety.
  2. Click User Accounts , then click Change User Account Control Settings.
  3. If confirmation password is asked provide it and then move to change the UAC settings. From the screen use the slider to select the level of protection you want. I would now describe all the four levels and what they mean:
  • Always Notify Me:
    This behavior is same like that of Windows Vista – asking user for each and every sytem related tasks which are performed by user or program.
  • Default – Notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer:
    This is the default Windows 7 behavior, if the user makes a change to UAC, then it leaves you alone, but when a program makes a change to system then UAC prompts for action by you and your desktop goes dark, just like it does in Windows Vista. otherwise, UAC sits there silently.
  • Notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer (do not dim my desktop):
    This setting is identical to the above setting but with one difference – When UAC prompts you, it will not dim your desktop. Instead it will ask you for permission in normal mode. But this presents a slightly elevated security risk over the default setting, because a program could allow a malicious program to interfere with UAC prompt.
  • Never Notify me:
    In this mode the UAC is turned off completely. This of course is not recommended for most users as it is an insecure option.
    After you make the selection, you need to restart your computer for the new settings to take effect.